ABOUT PLANS, COVENANT, AND PRAYER

(2 Samuel 7)

By: Pastor Rowley
Lincoln Christian Life Center
1200 Lincoln Newcastle HWY
Lincoln, Ca 95648
(916)645-3347

PLANS TO BUILD THE TEMPLE
(2 Samuel 7:1-7)

image

(1) What was Nathan’s initial reaction to David’s desire to build the temple? (2 Samuel 1-3) Easy to read version

DAVID LEARNS ABOUT SAUL’S DEATH

image

1. After David defeated the Amalekites, he went back to Ziklag. This was just after Saul had been killed. David had been there two days. 2. Then, on the third day, a young soldier from Saul’s camp came to Ziklag. His clothes were torn, and he had dirt on his head. He came to David, and bowed with his face to the ground.

3. David asked him, “Where have you come from?”

The man answered, “I just came from the Israelite camp.”

(2) What was the basic reason God did not allow David to build the temple? (1 Chronicles 28:2-6, or 1 Chronicles 22:8)

(1 Chronicles 28:2-6)

image

2. King David stood up and said, “Listen to me, my brothers and my people. In my heart I wanted to build a place that would be God’s footstool. And I made the plans for building that house for God. 3. But God said to me, ” No David, you must not build a house for My name. You must not do that because you are a soldier, and you have killed many men.’

4. The Lord, the God of Israel, chose the tribe of Judah to lead the twelve tribes of Israel. Then from that tribe He chose my father’s family. And from that family He chose me to be the king of Israel forever. Yes, God wanted to make me king of Israel. 5. The Lord has given me many sons. And from all those sons, He chose Solomon to be the new king of Israel. But really, Israel is the Lord’s kingdom. He said to me, ‘David, your son Solomon will build My temple and the area around it, because I have chosen Solomon to be My son, and I will be his Father.”

(3) What did God tell Nathan to tell David? (2 Samuel 7:5-7)

5. “Go and tell My servant David,’ this is what the Lord says: You are not the one to build a house for me to live in. 6. I did not live in a house at the time I took the Israelites out of Egypt. No, I traveled around in a tent. I used the tent for My home. 7. I never told any of the tribes of Israel to build Me a fancy house made from cedar wood.’

(4) What are God’s feelings about David’s proposal? (2 Samuel 5-7)

THE ISRAELITES MAKE DAVID KING

image

5. In Hebron he ruled over Judah for 7 years and 6 months, and in Jerusalem he ruled over all Israel and Judah for 33 years.

DAVID CAPTURES JERUSALEM

6. The king and his men went to fight against the Jebusites living in Jerusalem. The Jebusites said to David, ” You cannot come into our city. Even our blind and crippled people can stop you.” (They said this because they thought that David would not be able to enter into their city. 7. But David did take the fort of Zion. This fort became the city of David.)

GOD’S COVENANT TO DAVID
(2 Samuel 7-18)

(5) What three things did God do for David? (2 Samuel 7:8-9)

8. “You must say this to My servant David: ‘This is what the Lord All-Powerful says: I chose you while you were out in the pasture following the sheep. I took you from that job and made you the leader of my people, the Israelites. 9. I have been with you every place you went. I have defeated your enemies for you. I will make you one of the most famous people on earth.

(6) What four privileges does God promise David? (2 Samuel 7:9-11)

image

9. I have been with you every place that you went. I have defeated your enemies for you. I will make you one of the most famous people on the earth.10-11. And I chose a place for My people, the Israelites. I gave them their own place to live so that they will not have to move from place to place anymore. In the past, I sent judges to lead My people, but evil people gave them many troubles. That will not happen now. I am giving you peace from all of your enemies. I promise that I will make your family a family of kings.

(7) What supreme honor will God do for David? (2 Samuel 7:11-12)

image

10-11. And I chose a place for My people, the Israelites. I planted the Israelites. I gave them their own place to live so that they will not have to move from place to place anymore. In the past, I sent judges to lead My people, but evil people gave them many troubles. That will not happen now. I am giving you peace from all of your enemies. I promise that I will make your family a family of kings.

12. “When your life is finished, you will die and be buried with your ancestors. But then I will make one of your own children become the king.

(8) How many times is the word “house” mentioned in 2 Samuel 7?

5 times

(9) In the future, who will God desire to have His temple built? (2 Samuel 7:12-14)

image

12. When your life is finished, you will die and be buried with your ancestors. But then I will make one of your own children become the king. 13. He will build a house for My name, and I will make his kingdom strong forever. 14. I will be his Father, and he will be My son. When he sins, I will use other people to punish him. They will be My whips.

(10) Even with a promise of an everlasting house, what serious problems will occur? (2 Samuel 7:14)

image

14. I will be his Father, and he will be my son. When he sins, I will use other people to punish him. They will be My whips.

11. DAVID’S PRAYER
(2 Samuel 7:18-29)

image

(Verse 18-21 focus on the present while verses 22-24 looks at the past. Verses 25-29 looks forward to the future).

(11) When David goes before God to pray, what posture does he take?
(2 Samuel 7:18).

DAVID PRAYS TO GOD

18. Then king David went in and sat before the Lord. David said,

“Lord God, why am I so important to You? Why is my family important? Why have You made me so important?

(12) What question did David ask that began his prayer? What does this show about his prayer? (2 Samuel 7:18)

Lord God, why am I so important to you? He’s humble.

(13) What three things did David say about the Lord? (2 Samuel 7:22)

22. Lord God, this is why You are so great! There is no one like You. There is no god except You! We know that because of what we ourselves have heard about what You did.

(14) What does God say Israel will become? (2 Samuel 7:24)

image

24. You’ve made the people of Israel your very own people forever, and Lord, You became their God.

(15) What feature about God gave David so much confidence? (2 Samuel 7:28)

image

28. Lord God, You are God, and I can trust what You say. And You said that these good things will happen to me, Your servant.

Leave a Reply

